Chapter 15

“When you go in search of honey, you must expect to get stung by bees.”

Joseph Joubert      

                                                
  

                                                  Chapter 15

Days have gone by, Zach and I have been together since I was 15. I have decided to pursue my writing career and applied to the University of South Carolina which is one of the best schools in SC. “Lily, your mail is here” said August. I rushed to the get the letter to see if i’m in the college. I told August to open it for me because of how nervous i was. Did I make it? I said in a worried way. August looked confused for a minute, She looked at me and said “Lily you made it, i am so proud of you, your mom would be so proud”. I was speechless; the next chapter of my life was about to begin.

For days i kept thinking what would happen with Zach and I, I was scared to tell him. How would he react to it? would it affect our future together? I did not want these questions to be answered. I decided that the next time I saw Zach I would tell him.  There was a knock on the door. It was Zach, “Lily do you want to go for dinner”? Said Zach “yes that sounds great, but Zach I need to talk to you about something now” I replied. “So what’s up” he said, “I got accepted into the University of South Carolina, but I want to stay with you Zach so I have decided I wont go. “No Lily you have to go, it’s your future. Please Lily go” he said. “ But that would mean we would have to end our relationship” I said,  “I don’t care Lily, you have always wanted to be a writer, these opportunities only happen once in a lifetime, That university is one of the best universities, and we can still send each others letters now and then”  

I decided to go, my future starts now, the next chapter of Lily is about to begin. we reached the university of South Carolina, a journey that lasted 4 hours, I needed to eat something I was starving, I miss Zach, I can not think of anything besides him. As I made my way to the cafeteriaI got a sandwich, it was cold, with ham and cheese just the way Zach and I used to eat it. The University is huge. My new roommate was a girl named Suzanne, she was from Canada, her hair was as dark as chocolate, she smelt like roses, and her smile was like looking at the moon.

“Hi I’m Suzanne, I’m from Toronto what’s your name?” she said. “I’m Lily, I’m from Tiburon” I felt I said it in a way that makes me look stupid.  

My first class was writing, I met my new teacher Mrs. Williams. She looked mean, the type of person who would grade your work based on who you are. She also spoke very fast so it was hard to take notes. She told us to write about someone you love as a practice. I decided to write about Zach. That same night my first letter from Zach came.

“Hi Lily, the beehouse feels so quiet without you, my life does not feel the same without you, I miss you so much that I cant count on my fingers how many times I have thought about you. I hope you have met new friends and you are enjoying everything over there. Everyone misses you especially Rosaleen, she tells us stories about you as a baby. I am going to try out for some colleges to see if I can play football. I miss you Lily.

love,

Zach”

I started to cry. Tears flowing like rivers out of my eyes. I miss Zach, I miss Rosaleen, I miss August, I decided to write Zach a letter.

“Hey Zach,

I can not describe how much I miss you I wish I would have stayed. I love The college though, I met a new friend her name Is Suzanne she is from Canada. You can call me at this number (803) 796-1048; I hope we can stay in touch.

Love,

Lily”

“So who is this Zach you’re writing about” Suzanne asked. How did she see me, I didn’t even know she was in the room.  I hesitated to reply. It wouldn’t hurt to tell her. “ Zach is my boyfriend, we are in a long term relationship right now”. “ oh that’s nice; but you know long term relationships don’t work”. I started to cry; more tears coming out of my eyes, and instead of her helping me she was just standing there watching me cry.

I went later that night to mail the letter, when Suzanne invited me for dinner. We went to the schools cafeteria where they were serving hamburgers; another thing Zach and I used to go eat where Hamburgers. The meat was juicy and crispy and the onions matched so well with the meat it reminded me how he used to like them.

Zach and I kept sending each others letters but after a while it stopped, I got worried that something might have happened to him; I realized that this long term relationship will never work. Within months our relationship was over.

Leave a comment